Posted in Uncategorized

A Step Forward

” The ear that hears the rebukes of life will abide among the wise. He who disdains instruction despises his own soul, But he who heeds rebuke gets understanding.”

~Proverbs 15:31-32

I am a sensitive perfectionist which is a terrible mixture. I always want what I do to be perfect, and if it isn’t, I start feeling like a worthless pile of goo. (Okay, so maybe I’m a bit dramatic). But what is even worse than failing is when someone points out my failures even if it is in the spirit of kindness.When someone criticizes me I feel like I can never do anything right ever again and that I failed myself and everyone. I go into self-doubt and moping mode. It’s pitiful.

Two days ago I was criticized by someone whom I admire while at the same time I am slightly intimidated by. I took the criticism as a reminder of all my flaws and was miserable. But I was reminded by a faithful friend (the Word of God) that I was looking at it all wrong. This isn’t a time to feel bad about myself. This is a time to do better. I’m never going to be perfect, but there is always room for improvement.

I have to use every word of criticism and every pointer as a step forward instead of a step back. I realized that I am actually doing myself more harm by taking every piece of advice and doing nothing with it. So I’ve decided to use criticism as an incentive instead of a discouragement. And while it may still hurt when someone tells me that I pretty much suck, I know that it does no good to sulk over it. Besides I love proving people wrong. With dedication, passion and strength from God there is nothing you can’t accomplish even if the world says that it’s impossible. So don’t let criticism make you give up. You can accomplish anything. Turn the impossible into the possible.

 “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” ~Philippians 4:13

2 thoughts on “A Step Forward

Leave a Reply

