Posted in Uncategorized

The Keys to Succeeding

I stare at the sheet of music and sigh. I cannot make the sound I hear in my head come out on my violin. I’ve tried playing it so many different ways, but the soul of the music escapes me. I flop down on my bed in hopelessness. The notes seem to smirk at me. They seem to know that I must learn and play them perfectly within two weeks and they do everything in their power to make me want to give up. “Am I missing something?” I ask myself racking my brain on how I can somehow make the sounds I need. “Is there something that you need to be able to play this song that I don’t have?”

I stare dejectedly at my beautiful violin. I have been given so many opportunities, been blessed so many times when I have seen what music can do, that I know I can’t give up now. God has given me perseverance to make it this far, he can give me what I need to continue.

I pick my violin back up and place it back on my shoulder. I play again and listen to the music, playing the notes as they call to me, whispering their happiness, sorrow and anger to my fingers. It’s still far from perfect, but now I can feel the music.

Perseverance and determination are the keys to succeeding in anything. Because oftentimes it is the moment you give up that you are just a one step away from your destination. But it is hard to persevere without God because without him we can do nothing. Philippians 4:13 says “I can do all things through Him who gives me strength.” I would not have gotten as far as I did if it were not for the Lord’s power and strength that have sustained me and kept me going. With the Lord’s help I will play that song perfectly in two weeks and will continue and grow in my music. He is my strength forever and with Him there is no obstacle I cannot overcome.

4 thoughts on “The Keys to Succeeding

Leave a Reply

